Tuesday 20 October 2015

Weekly Notes - 13th October 2015

Oola Weekly Lotto, 5 Oct 2015. Numbers drawn 4. 18. 22. 27. There was no winner. Next week Jackpot is 8,800.
Match 3’s –John Cheshire Oola,
Lucky Dips- Josh Ryan Oola, Jim Franklin Cullen Rd, Mary Coleman Pallasgreen, Mary Ryan Oola, Helen Walsh, Mary Ita McGrath Pallasgreen, Veronica Martin Oola,
Promotors – Johnny Ryan & Kieran Bourke.

Find the Five:
This week’s winner was Olivia & Nicholas Ryan Jackpot was not won. Next week’s draw will take place on Friday 16th of Oct in the GAA Field.
Tickets cost €2 or 3 for €5 and are available from O Donovan’s Shop, Hogan’s Bar or from Peter Gardiner or Liam Ryan.

Oola are Intermediate Football County Champions 2015!
Caherconlish hosted this year’s Intermediate Football Final between Oola and Claughaun in which Oola claimed the honours on a score line of 2-11 to 0-14.
Oola started the first half playing with a slight breeze however Claughaun opened the scoring thanks to the boot of their number 13 Evan Shine. Ian Bourke opened Oola’s scoring with a fine point in the 4th minute. It was point for point for the next 10 minutes leaving the score at 4 points apiece.  Oola’s points coming from brothers Pakie Bourke, John Bourke and Ian Bourke.  It was the U21 Bord Gais Player of the year Richie English that gave Oola the lead when he fisted the ball into the back of the net. Shortly afterward Pakie Bourke gave the Claughaun goalkeeper no chance when he fired a superb goal into the back of the Claughaun net.  Oola and Claughaun each scored 3 further points in the half; Oola’s points scored by Conor Ryan, Keith Bourke and Richie English. Darragh Stapleton replaced Conor Ryan who went off injured in the 25th minute. The half time score read Oola 2-7 Claughaun 0-7.
As expected Claughaun fought back well in the second half and scored 3 unanswered points when they came within 3 point of Oola.  Josh Ryan scored Oola’s first point of the second half; a free after 15 minutes into the second half after Darragh O’Donovan was fouled. Thomas Hayes was introduced for Daniel Quirke 17 min into the half. Claughaun were still in the match kicking over 2 more point however the move of the match came when Pakie Bourke flicked the ball up into his hands out on the sideline turned his man and passed the ball into his brother Ian who duly put the wall over the bar. Oola’s next score came from Pakie Bourke as he kicked over a point. Oola were in control of the match from here on and with 5 mins remaining the score was Oola 2-10 Claughan 0-13. At this stage Caolan Hennessy replaced Ian Bourke. Claughaun kicked a further point while Oola’s final score came from 17 year old Josh Ryan who kicked over a free after Darragh O’Donovan was fouled.
After the final whistle was blown the emotion of capturing the county title after losing 3 finals in 5 years was very evident. Captain Eoin Fitzgibbon accepted the cup from fellow Oola man Denis Holmes in front of jubilant Oola supporters.
SCORERS - Oola: Pakie Bourke 1-2, Richie English 1-1, Ian Bourke 0-3, Josh Ryan 0-2 (two frees,), Conor Ryan, John Bourke, Keith Bourke 0-1 each.
Team: Kevin Nolan, Shane Whelan, Jamie Heuston, Stephen Ryan, John Bourke, Eoin Fitzgibbon, Denny Moloney, Josh Ryan, Conor Ryan, Daniel Quirke, Ian Bourke, Keith Bourke, Pakie Bourke, Darragh O’Donovan, Richie English.
Subs: Darragh Stapleton for Conor Ryan, Thomas Hayes for Daniel Quirke, Caolan Hennessy for Ian Bourke.

Best wishes:
To Doon minor team this Saturday as they face Na Piarsaigh in the County Final. Throw in is at 3.45 in Bruff